About Kazakhstan

The Republic of Kazakhstan is located in Central Asia. The country borders on Russia in the north and in the west, on China in the south-east and on Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan and Turkmenistan in the south. Kazakhstan occupies the very center of Eurasia, and is the ninth largest country in the world.
Kazakhstan is a country of marvelous nature, majestic mountains, glistering glaciers, rocky canyons, deep rivers and crystal-clear lakes, fiery deserts and singing sands and most diverse flora and fauna. The greater part of Kazakhstan’s territory is represented by vast steppes and pastures.
Kazakhstan is the cradle of one of the ancient Eurasian civilizations, the homeland of nomadic people. A large part of the Great Silk Road went through Kazakhstan’s territory. This is a country of boundless steppes, wildlife sanctuaries and health resorts, and introduction to this world full of remnants of ancient civilizations, the unfamiliar culture of bellicose honorable nomads will simply render you speechless!
Kazakhstan offers almost any type of tourism: educational, entertaining, recreational, mountain tourism, ski and other sports tourism, business tours, pilgrimages, ethnic tourism, ecotourism, medical tourism, as well as mountaineering, rafting, hawking etc.

 2000px-Kazachst-n-pah-l-obr-zek.svg_

Ethnic culture

The origins of Kazakh traditions go back to distant past. The culture of nomadic people was forming under the influence of the harsh climate and constant wandering from place to place. Sometimes life and prosperity of a whole tribe could depend on how a steppe traveler was welcomed by people. Kazakh people count their willingness to lay the table (so called ‘dastarkhan’) for a guest among their most important virtues and values. The tradition requires that any guest should be well fed and treated to tea.
From the ancient time, yurt was the traditional dwelling of Kazakhs. It is one of the oldest and the largest inventions of Eurasian nomads, a practical and comfortable housing. Its main advantages were its mobility (it could be carried by a camel or a horse), light weight and simplicity. Yurt also reflects religious beliefs of ancient people. For instance, the shanyrak represents continuity of generations, unity of time and harmony of life. Shanyrak, passed from one generation to the next, represented life of future generations, protection of ancestors and benevolence of celestial bodies.
During a yurt installation, the first thing was to mark the place for the door. Traditionally, the entrance was facing the east. It was important, because it was believed that a blessing was carried by the rays of the sun entering the yurt first thing in the morning.

 

04 (3)

 

 

Decorative and applied art of the Kazakh people
Applied arts have been developing in Kazakhstan since ancient times, and people have been crafting things from glass, clay, wood and leather. Wood, bone and stone carving practices were commonly spread. Ornamental casting and bronze and tin hammering were developing. Kazakh craftsmen created amazing wares and weapons: war axes, battle axes (ay-balta), bows (sadak), quivers (koramsak). Another interesting kind of applied arts was creation of ornamental wickerwork made of cheegrass (straw).
Embroidery was also well-known among the ancient Kazakhs. For that purpose they used colored thread, beads, bugles and pearls, as well as cloth, leather and felt as materials. Ornamental carving was also one of the kinds of decorative and applied art practiced by Kazakhs; it was used to decorate household items, houseware and furniture. Original ornaments were used in decoration of house elements and other architectural structures.
Carpet weaving is a native Kazakh art. Since ancient times and till present day, the inner house walls are often decorated with hand-made traditional carpets called ‘syrmak’. Of these people used to say: ‘The carpet is of modest colors, but the ornaments are precise; looks simple, but it’s hard to craft’. To make such carpet, one has to mow some steppe cheegrass in advance, prepare buck fleece, wash it thoroughly and paint each pile in its own color. The process of syrmak making is rather labor-consuming.
Customs and traditions are an important element of culture of any people. It can be said that they represent the essence defining self-consciousness of people and the pride they take in their traditions, culture and ancestors, thus being the base for a nation’s unity passed from one generation to another.

1.1.1

 

Jewelry is a peculiar craft requiring professional skills and training. Kazakh applied art in general could be described as domestic crafts, but jewelry crafting was an exception, since in this case a professional industry was in place. Kazakh jewelers were called ‘zergers’ (‘zerzar’ meant ‘gold’ in the Persian language), worked individually and passed their skills to their children. Silver was the most popular crafting material.
Kazakh women favored triangular amulets (tumars), removable trinkets and bracelets (blezyk), various rings and earrings, and ‘shashbau’ – long and intricately weaved chains (often double or triple). On their ends, shashbau had magnificent silk tassels made of lace, or silver pendants. Shashbau were attached to the base of a woman’s braid and ran along the entire length of the braid.
Every zerger had a set of special ‘kalyps’ (forms) for jewelry crafting. The craftsmen used a wide variety of tricks and techniques to create jewelry, among which were shape casting, cold hammering and silver inlaying. Kazakh jewelers were also practicing filigree and granulation (creation of jewelry patterns from tiny metal balls).

84e48ec6eca1e801c2635907a0a4d0fa

 

Customs and traditions
Customs, ceremonies and celebrations were very important in a nomad’s life. Kazakhs celebrate two annual religious holidays – uraza-ayt and, in 70 days, kurban ayt – just like any other Islamic country. During this time people bring money and other offerings to mosques, holy people and places, go on pilgrimages and have family celebrations.
The holiday of spring and new life – Nauryz – has been playing a special role in Kazakhs’ lives since ancient times. This holiday marks the coming of spring and awakening of nature from its long winter sleep. It was believed that the better was the celebration, the better the coming year would be. That is why Nauryz is celebrated for 7 days and involves abundant feasts, games, honoring traditions and other elements of general celebration.
However, not all of Kazakh customs and traditions are related to celebrations. There also were common, day-to-day rites. For instance, Kazakhs believed in the purifying power of fire, and while striking camp, ancient Kazakhs would lead their livestock in between large bonfires to protect the tribe from evil powers.
Attention should also be paid to traditional games, of which ‘ak suyek’ was the most popular. The game involved searching for a white sheep cannon bone thrown to the steppe. Children’s games were also widespread. The most popular one was called ‘alchik’ or ‘asyk’. An ‘asyk’ is a colored sheep pastern. Asyks were placed in a row, and a player threw a peever asyk to knock other asyks from the circle. It was also necessary for the peever to take a certain position afterwards. The game of asyks helps to train visual estimation and agility. The ancient origins of this game were confirmed by archeological finds throughout the entire Kazakhstan territory.

trapeza_1

 

Guest reception
Hospitality is the main feature of Kazakh culture and customs. Warm welcoming of guests was above all; they were treated to hot aromatic tea or cool kumis and national food. During a visit, the guests were given a special honorary place, the so-called ‘tor’, they were treated to the most delicious morsels of each dish, and they were the first to taste the food. In harsh steppe environment, hospitality traditions meant a lot and contributed to building good relationships between different tribes, as well as mitigated existing conflicts and prevented new disputes. There were also traditions related to welcoming of travelers, such as the interesting ‘konakkade’ or ‘trial by art’. This tradition gave the host the right to ask the guest to sing or to play a musical instrument. This custom was not really a trial, but a way to make the feast exciting and funny.
Konakasy is a tradition also related to welcoming guests. In Kazakh culture, guests are divided into three types: arnayi konak (invited guest), kudayi konak (accidental guest) and kydyrma konak (unexpected guest). Special rituals were to be observed during welcoming of each type of guests, to the extent that in ancient times special ‘penalties’ could be imposed on a host who failed to observe hospitality standards.

 

c51ce410c124a10e0db5e4b97fc2af39

 

National food
Meat is the main component of the most national dishes. Beshbarmak is one of the most well-known and popular Kazakh dishes; it is made of fresh boiled mutton and boiled pieces of rolled dough. Other popular dishes include kuyrdak (roasted pieces of liver, kidneys, lungs, heart etc.), kespe (noodles) and sorpa (meat broth). Local population also favors ‘kazy’ (horsemeat sausage) which may be fairly exotic for foreign tourists.
Apart from meat dishes, there is a great variety of dairy food and drink: kumis (sour mare’s milk), shubat (sour camel milk), ayran (kefir), kaymak (sour cream), suzbe (farmer cheese), kurt (dries salt farmer cheese), irimshik (dried farmer cheese made of sheep’s milk) etc.
The most common type of traditional bread is ‘baursak’, round or square pieces of dough roasted in boiling oil in a pot. It can be easily cooked in field conditions.
The main and most favorite drink is tea. By the way, Kazakhstan is included in the top-10 of world countries in terms of tea consumption. Average Kazakhstan citizen consumes about 1,2 kg of tea annually, and it is one of the highest rates of tea consumption on the planet. By way of contrast, in India it is only 650 grams per citizen. Kazakh tea is very strong and is served with cream.

maxresdefault

 

Kazakh music
Traditionally, Kazakh music was performed solo. Another peculiarity is that for a long time Kazakh music had no written language. Due to its mobility and corresponding environment, a nomadic civilization could not develop art genres requiring stationary environment and urban way of life, such as painting (although, there are some rock paintings), monumental architecture and sculpture, theatrical art genres etc. This also was the reason behind the development of oral artistic creation genres. That is why all cultural and spiritual energy of nomadic people was concentrated in music, words and ornaments. Probably none of the other peoples at that stage paid such close attention to musical art as Kazakhs. Kazakhs were great performers and musicians, and their traditions involved passing of experience to younger generations.
The spreading of musical art was facilitated by professional singers (olenshi, enshi) and musicians (kuyshi) who continuously traveled between settlements. The most popular were those performers who could combine the skill of singing and playing musical instruments with lyrical improvisations on various society issues. Storytellers and poets-improvisers delivered the performance of legends, stories and epic tales not only by way of singing and playing, but also by expressive body language and facial expressions.
Production of national musical instruments is one of the most interesting courses in the current craft revival, and nowadays it has got a second wind, as many amateur and professional musical bands and artists tour and spread their music extensively. There is a demand for quality musical instruments among these musicians, and collectors as well.

04

Казахстан

Республика Казахстан расположена в Центральной Азии. На севере и западе граничит с Россией, на юго-востоке — с Китаем, на юге — с Киргизией, Узбекистаном и Туркменистаном. Казахстан находится в самом центре Евразийского континента, и по площади является девятой по размеру страной мира.

Казахстан – это страна дивной природы, грандиозных гор, сияющих ледников, скалистых каньонов, полноводных рек и озер с чистейшей водой, с огненными пустынями и поющими песками, с богатым разнообразием флоры и фауны. Большая часть территории – это необъятные степи и пастбища. 

Казахстан – страна одной из древних цивилизаций Евразийского континента, родина кочевых племен, на  территории которой проходил крупный отрезок Великого Шелкового пути. Это также страна бескрайних степей, заповедных мест и курортов. Вас ошеломит прикосновение к остаткам древних цивилизаций, неизведанный мир культуры воинственных благородных номадов.

В Казахстане представлены практически все виды туризма: познавательный, развлекательный, горный, спортивный, лыжный туризм, оздоровительно-лечебный, деловой, религиозный, этнический, экологический и медицинский, а также рафтинг, альпинизм, охота с беркутом и другие.

2000px-Kazachst-n-pah-l-obr-zek.svg_

Этнокультура

Казахские традиции берут свое начало еще с давних времен. Культура кочевых народов формировалась под влиянием сурового климата, постоянной смены места жительства, и порой именно от того, какой прием окажут заплутавшему путнику, зависела не только его жизнь, но и благополучие целого поселения. Каждый казах считает своей добродетелью и достоинством готовность расстелить дастархан (т.е. накрыть стол для гостя). Обычаи требуют, чтобы гость был напоен чаем и обильно накормлен.

Традиционным жилищем казахов издревле была юрта, одно из самых старых и самых больших изобретений евразийских кочевников, практичное и удобное жилье. Самым большим его преимуществом была мобильность (помещалась на одном верблюде или лошади), легкость конструкции и простота сборки. Юрта также отображала религиозные воззрения людей того времени. Так, например, шанырак был символом преемственности поколений, единстве времен и гармонии жизни. Передававшийся из поколения в поколение, шанырак олицетворял продолжение рода, покровительство предков, благосклонность небесных светил.

Также при установке юрты, первым делом намечалось местоположение двери. Традиционно вход располагали на востоке. Это играло немаловажную роль, так делалось для того, чтобы на новое место вместе с лучами солнца, первым дело, зашло благо.

04 (3)

Декоративно-прикладное искусство казахов

На территории Казахстана с давних времен развивались прикладные ремесла, изготовлялись предметы из стекла, глины, дерева и кожи. Получила широкое распространение резьба по дереву, кости, камню. Развивалось художественное литье и чеканка из олова и бронзы. Казахские мастера и ремесленники создавали удивительные изделия и оружие: боевые топорики, секиры – ай-балта, луки – садаки, колчаны – корамсаки. Также интересным направлением в прикладном искусстве стало художественное плетение из чия (соломы).

С древнейших времен в Казахстане известна вышивка – разноцветными нитями, бисером, стеклярусом, жемчугом, в качестве материалов выступали в основном ткани, кожа и войлок. К традиционным видам декоративно-прикладного искусства Казахстана относится и художественная резьба, которой в основном декорируют предметы быта, посуду и мебель. Свои собственные орнаменты использовались и при декорировании элементов жилища и иных архитектурных сооружений.

Исконным ремеслом казахов является ковроткачество. Со стародавних времен и по настоящее время стены домов часто украшают традиционными коврами ручной работы, которые называются «сырмак». Про них говорят: скромен ковер по цвету, но узор его точен; прост на вид, а сделать его нелегко. Надо заблаговременно накосить в степи чий, заготовить баранью шерсть, хорошо постирать ее и покрасить каждую кипу шерсти в свой цвет. Довольно трудоемок и сам процесс изготовления такого ковра.

Обычаи и традиции являются важной составной частью культуры любого народа. Можно сказать, что они составляют собой ту суть, что определяет самосознание и гордость своего народа своими традициями, культурой, предками, иначе говоря, являются основой единства нации, передающейся из поколения в поколение.

1.1.1

Ювелирное дело – специфическое производство, требующее от мастеров высокой профессиональной подготовки. Большинство видов казахского декоративно-прикладного искусства имело характер домашних промыслов, однако ювелирное дело стало исключением, так как в данном случае имело место профессиональное производство. Казахские ювелиры-зергеры (в переводе с персидского языка «зерзар» означает «золото») работали индивидуально и передавали свое мастерство по наследству. Самым популярным материалом для работы являлось серебро.

Большой популярностью у казахских женщин пользовались амулеты треугольной формы (тумар), съемные украшения и браслеты (блезики), различные кольца и серьги, шашбау – длинные цепочки сложного плетения (часто двойные или тройные). Шашбау заканчивались пышными шелковыми кистями, образованными из шнуров, или серебряными подвесками. Шашбау крепились у основания кос и спускались по всей их длине.

У каждого зергера был набор специальных калып (форм) для изготовления ювелирных изделий. Для создания украшений умельцы прибегали к самым разным приемам и хитростям. Использовались и отливка по формам, и холодная ковка, и насечка серебра по железу. Казахские ювелиры также владели искусством филиграни и техникой зерни (составления рисунка украшения из мелких шариков).

84e48ec6eca1e801c2635907a0a4d0fa

Обычаи и традиции

Вся жизнь кочевника была пронизана народными обычаями, церемониями и праздниками. Как и во всех странах, где распространен ислам, у казахов принято отмечать два ежегодных религиозных праздника — ураза айт и через 70 дней — курбан-айт. В это время обычны денежные и другие подношения мечетям, святым лицам и местам, осуществляются паломничества и празднования в кругу семьи среди родных и близких.

С давних времен особую роль в жизни казахского народа играл праздник весны и новой жизни – Наурыз, знаменующий приход весны и пробуждение природы после долгого зимнего сна. Считалось, что чем богаче и щедрее будет отмечен и проведен этот праздник, тем благополучнее и благословенней пройдет следующий год. Этим обуславливается его длительность (до 7 дней) и изобилие праздничных столов, обычаев, игр и прочих атрибутов народного гуляния.

Однако обычаи и традиции казахского народа связаны не только с празднествами. Существовал и ряд бытовых, можно сказать повседневных обрядов. Казахи верили в очистительную силу огня. Так, например, покидая прежнюю стоянку, чтобы избавиться от действия недобрых сил, следовало провести караван со скотом между большими кострами.

Особое внимание стоит уделить и традиционным играм, наиболее популярной из которых была игра «ак суйек». Суть данной игры состояла в поиске брошенной далеко в степь белой берцовой кости барана. Широко были распространены и детские игры. Самая любимая из них — альчики, или асыки, — раскрашенные овечьи и подкопытные бабки. Асычки расставляются в ряд. Игрок бросает с расстояния нескольких метров асык-биток, которым нужно выбить другие асыки из кона (круга). Также необходимо, чтобы биток стал в определённую позицию. Игра в асычки развивает глазомер, вырабатывает ловкость. Древность этой игры подтверждена археологическими находками на всей территории Казахстана.

trapeza_1

Прием гостей

Гостеприимство является главной чертой казахской культуры и казахских обычаев. Радушное отношение к гостям ставилось превыше всего: их угощали горячим ароматным чаем или прохладным кумысом и традиционными блюдами казахской кухни. В доме хозяина гостю отводилось особое почетное место – тор, а также ему отдавались самые лучше части приготовленных блюд, и принадлежало право первенства в их дегустации. В суровых степных условиях традиции гостеприимства значили очень много и способствовали установлению хороших отношений между разными родами, а также сглаживали уже существующие конфликты и препятствовали появлению новых разногласий. Также существовал ряд традиций при оказании гостеприимства путнику, например такой интересный обычай, как конаккаде, или же «испытание искусством». Согласно этой традиции, хозяин дома вправе попросить гостя спеть или сыграть на музыкальном инструменте. Этот обычай – не столько действительно испытание, сколько способ весело провести время во время застолья.

Конакасы – традиция, связанная с угощением гостей. В казахской культуре гости делятся на три типа: арнайы конак (приглашенный гость), кудайы конак (случайный гость) и кыдырма конак (нежданный гость). Для приема каждого из них существовали специальные ритуалы, причем в давние времена против хозяина дома могли быть применены даже особые «штрафные санкции», если он нарушал нормы гостеприимства.

c51ce410c124a10e0db5e4b97fc2af39

Национальная кухня

Основные блюда являются мясными. Одним из самых известных и популярных казахских блюд является бешбармак, который готовится из варёной свежей баранины с кусочками раскатанного варёного теста. Также популярными блюдами являются куырдак — жареные кусочки печени, почек, легких, сердца и т. п., кеспе – лапша и сорпа — мясной бульон. Любимым среди местного населения и экзотичным для иностранцев блюдом является казы. Это колбаса из конины.

Кроме мясных блюд, существует большое разнообразие молочных блюд и напитков: кумыс (кислое кобылье молоко), шубат (кислое верблюжье молоко), айран (кефир), каймак (кислая сметана), сузбе (творог), курт (высушенный солёный творог), иримшык (сушеный творог из овечьего молока), и др.

Наиболее распространённым видом традиционного хлеба являются баурсаки, жареные в кипящем масле в казане круглые или квадратные кусочки теста. Это блюдо можно легко приготовить в походных условиях.

Из напитков основным и любимым является чай. К слову сказать, Казахстан входит в мировую десятку стран, любителей чая. Потребление чая жителями Казахстана одно из самых высоких в мире — 1,2 килограмма в год на человека. Для сравнения, в Индии оно составляет лишь 650 граммов на душу населения. Чай по-казахски — это крепкий чай со сливками.

maxresdefault

Казахское музыкальное искусство

Казахское музыкальное искусство традиционно сольное. Характерным для традиционной казахской музыки оказалось и то, что она долгое время оставалась бесписьменной. Конно-кочевая цивилизация в силу своей подвижности и соответствующих условий жизнедеятельности не могла развивать те жанры искусства, которые требуют стационарных условий и городского быта, такие как живопись (хотя существуют наскальные росписи), монументальная архитектура и скульптура, жанры театрального искусства и пр. Эта же причина послужила основанием развития устного художественного творчества. Именно поэтому вся духовно-культурная энергетика номадической цивилизации была сосредоточена в музыке, слове и орнаменте. Поэтому, наверное, ни у одного из народов, стоящих на той же ступени развития, что и казахи, музыкальному искусству не уделялось столь огромное внимание. Казахи сами были великолепными исполнителями и музыкантами, в их традициях была обязательная передача опыта молодым поколениям.

Распространению музыкального искусства способствовали постоянно разъезжавшие по аулам профессиональные певцы (оленши, энши) и музыканты (куйши). Наибольшую известность в народе получали такие исполнители, у которых искусство пения и игры на инструменте сочеталось с даром импровизации на злободневную тему. Сказители и поэты-импровизаторы при исполнении легенд и сказок, эпических или историях сказаний не только пели, но и рассказывали, и играли на инструменте, усиливая свое исполнение выразительной жестикуляцией и мимикой.

В наши дни изготовление национальных музыкальных инструментов, как одно из наиболее интересных направлений возрождаемых ремесел и декоративно-прикладной продукции обрело второе дыхание, поскольку продолжается дальнейшее развитие концертной деятельности многочисленных самодеятельных и профессиональных коллективов. Они пользуются спросом не только у специалистов, но и у коллекционеров.

04